
YEAR ↓ (4 digit)

(           )

(           )

Number of 

Certificates 

↓

Florida Death Certificate  (Without Cause of Death) @ $15.00 Each = $

Florida Death Certificate (With Cause of Death) @ $15.00 Each =  $

TOTAL TOTAL  $

OFFICIAL USE ONLY

DATE______________________         INITIALS________________

PAPER_________________________________ RECEIPT # _____________________

SECTION B:  APPLICANT  INFORMATION (Person Requesting Record)
If requesting the cause of death, all applicants must state their relationship to the decedent; if a funeral director or an attorney, you must enter the 

relationship of the person you represent.  Eligibility requirements are provided on the back of this form.

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida 
Statutes, or on any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent 

purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

LAST ↓

FUNERAL HOME NAME →

(if known)

LAST ↓ (Maiden, if applicable) SUFFIX ↓ (if applicable)

ALIAS NAME 

(if applicable) →
IF MARRIED FEMALE, 

MAIDEN SURNAME (if known)

STATE ↓ ZIP CODE ↓

LICENSE / BAR NUMBER ↓ NAME OF PERSON REPRESENTED ↓ THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT ↓

STATE FILE NUMBER ↓ (if known)

Indicate range of years to search ↓

SECTION A:  DECEDENT INFORMATION

MONTH↓
DATE OF DEATH→
(Do Not Put Date of Birth)

ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED     

(Required only when exact date of death 

is not  known)

     VITAL STATISTICS

597 W. 11TH ST

                                                                                                    PANAMA CITY, FL  32401                                     PRINT CLEARLY

Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application:  Anyone may apply for a death certification. When requesting a death certification without cause of death OR if the 
death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required.  
When cause of death information is requested and the death occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application.  If a mail 
request, a copy of the valid photo identification must be provided; AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as outlined in statute (see 
Eligibility on the back of this form).  Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this form when requesting cause of death.  If 
applicant is a funeral director or an attorney, see additional information under Eligibility on back of this form to ensure proper completion of this application.  
Acceptable forms of valid ID are:  Driver’s License, State Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification Card.

NAME OF 

DECEDENT→

SUFFIX ↓ (if applicable)

SECTION C:  COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT FEE INFORMATION
NOTE: IF ORDERING BY MAIL, YOU MUST SEND THE FEE BY MONEY ORDER OR CASHIER'S CHECK

              APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD
FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH IN BAY COUNTY

MIDDLE↓FIRST↓

FIRST↓

SEX ↓

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT ↓FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST ↓ (Include Suffix, if applicable)

PHONE NUMBER ↓

ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER ↓

Funeral Director/Attorney as Applicant 

for Cause of Death Information     →

CITY ↓

↓DATE OF DEATH↓

MAILING ADDRESS (Include Apartment/Lot Number, if applicable)↓ RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT↓

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

→

 (if known)

DAY↓

Applicant’s Name

TYPE OR PRINT→

NAME OF SURVIVING 

SPOUSE AS RECORDED ON 

DEATH RECORD→

(if applicable and if known)

(Place of Death) CITY/TOWN ↓

MIDDLE↓

(Place of Death) COUNTY↓
PLACE OF DEATH 

→ 

FIRST↓ MIDDLE↓ LAST ↓
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ELIGIBILITY:  

1. Decedent’s spouse or parent;
2. Decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH IN BAY COUNTY

  597 W. 11TH ST

PANAMA CITY, FL   32401
850-872-4455   

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION

AVAILABILITY:  Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had consistent registration.  While there are some records on file 

dating back to 1877, not all events were registered.

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION:  Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant.  Death records less than 50 years old with the 

cause of death information included may only be issued to the following individuals:

3. Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent;

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH:  Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of death.

4. Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE:  Applicant’s signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and telephone number.

INFORMATION NEEDED:  A search cannot be made without the decedent’s name and year of death.  If any of the other items requested on the front of this form are unavailable, 

other identifying information (such as parents’ names, birthplace, etc.) may be helpful if multiple records are found for common names.

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death 

Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request.  If after reading the above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death 

information, call our office (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for assistance.

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, and the name and relationship of the 

person they are representing, if requesting cause of death.  If not representing someone identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a 

completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request.  SPECIAL NOTE:  Florida clerks of court will not accept a death 

record with cause of death information included when filing probate.
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